top of page

Happy Graduation

Thanks for waiting so long since I've written.

Zero moments in the last 6 months to sit and compose.

I did think about it at times because...

I've been thinking about time.


As, how conveniently Western Lives are divided into 4 year segments. I value my best friend Cari taking this mantra when life rearranges itself. At age 4 we start formal school which is grouped in mostly 4 year bundles and attend universities or programs of mostly 4 year segments. We grow into a workforce, feel a 4 year itch, and think something is wrong with us, yet we've been programmed for segmented time and change.


During these time bundles, we're thrown together with a common set of people.


The real world isn’t divided by four.

The cafeteria at work isn't as easily identified as Arts vs Jocks vs. Mathletes.

No study halls. Only "The Continued Hustle Brings The Consistent Dollar".


Ed Psych classes preach how the brain seeks novelty and looks for change so there's reasons I saw an aggregate change around me in my fourth year in Qatar. Lifestyles became tiresome and obsolete for me. Tired from drama everywhere. Omicron. A phone fried. I sold a home.


And a colleague died.


My academic year review suggested, "What are you looking forward to for next year?"

Comedic answer was "The 5-year pin" - Serious answer was, "That it will be a new year."


Puleng, my tribal sister, quips: "When things get this stressful, I need wine. With ice. Just a little bit."

This year I felt I was standing around the world in a changing room. Peace came amid my love of living every "new day" in Qatar. New people, new restaurants, new events, new challenges.


Considering all things ahead [and teen movies are a solid go-to on my Netflix], I wrote a graduation speech. I wonder what my class rank is at this "Independent Academy of The Universe"...


::

Congratulations on the completion of this “four” segment.

We didn't think we'd be here four years, but here we are, and Inshallah we will be.

Four suitcases on arrival feels like four lives ago and now we're ready to leave it all behind with only a rucksack to the next destination.


Four years learning an etiquette of what to wear, where to eat, what supplies to pack, which table to choose, and most recently - who to befriend.

Where to find decent pizza.

Savoring Halal McDonalds.

No longer blinking at paying fifteen dollars for a box of Cheerios, 11 for a pint of Ben & Jerrys, and 20 for a beer doesn't phase us anymore.

We don't seek American products anymore, except a one-off random item and gratefully there's a dedicated Americans Group to shout out the location.


During our time here, the entire educational institution evolved amid a global quarantine and we evolved too.

Whatever was thrown at us, we caught and synchronized.


We returned each challenge by showing up.

Focused. Refined.

We did it independently because Life is a test and those who do not want to study will scrutinize you for doing so.


It's time to think about the next segment.

New countries to explore. New ideas to create.

Creating newness in a new time.


The significances of number four?

Maturity.

Self-expression. Self-fulfillment. Great capability to manage.

Gratefully choosing to see roots placed for honoring work achieved on our four selves - physical, emotional, spiritual, mental.

Four Cardinal points.

The Pythagorean philosophy of mind - opinion - science - self.

Four Horsemen.

Four - for stability, order, and the completion of justice.


Completion of justice as a new world opens up into the unknown.


I leave you with this [untitled] original poem.


You can sit with us - but there's no seats at the table...

"OMG we should totally hang out" - you never call me when you're able...

"Girl, where you been!" - you passively scroll past my posts...

This is where I remind you life goes on, amid blocks, and mutes, and ghosts,

But around you are good friends. See adventure through your own lens.


By choosing Qatar, you chose to move ahead.

If you want *this life then *these choices are necessary.

But you don’t have to live *that way of everyone else.

Cross this stage and aim proudly in your own direction because new opportunities are ahead.

Stop waiting around for things that aren't ever going to show up for you and show up with honor for the things that *are within abundant but impermanent moments.


To the Class of Tenacity and Endurance -

Grab a glass, fill it with wine, and a little bit of ice.

Toast to your eternal newness.


Happy summer. Grab your passport, it’s time to go.


Slainte.




Comentarios


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page