top of page

Birthday Inspiration

I remember the morning of my 40th birthday.

I was blessed to be in Qatar, at my St. Regis (yes it's mine, get your own), and my first thoughts were gratitude for surviving the torment of my 30s and acceptance for what would come in a whole new decade of adventure.

not my 40th birthday, but I did get henna a few weeks ago and THAT was an adventure
also me, unphotogenically in sweats

New Years Eve and Birthdays always seem like a new start to me.

Especially this New Years Eve.

Especially this birthday.

I will no longer be 42 (the answer to the ultimate question of life, the universe, and everything).


I will be 43 - coincidentally "the largest number for which it is impossible to purchase exactly that number of McDonalds McNuggets in the United Kingdom"... wait... what?


Fun Fact!

According to Google and YouTube:

"The Frobenius Number -- also called the McNugget Number -- is the highest number you *can’t* make out of two integers that have a greatest common divisor of 1. This late 19th-century math quirk was examined by Ferdinand Frobenius and expanded on by JJ Sylvester, but it came to public consciousness by examining the impossible orders of McDonald’s McNuggets in the United Kingdom, because they're sold in combinations of 6, 9, or 20 nuggets. You can make the numbers 42 and 44 - but no combination of 6, 9, or 20 will get you 43 nuggets. You can make EVERY number after 43... but 43 is the highest number you can't make."


The Nugget Algorithm needs more explanation in my head, but 43 as a "can't" number... Sounds like a year to dust off the "things people once told me I couldn't do" list because it's the last number of mathematically possible "cannot"... in terms of London McNuggets.


Other numerical facts about forty-three:

  • +43 is the code for direct dial international phone calls to Austria (a trip that was canceled in 2020 to due the start of COVID)

  • Angel Numbers are a repetitive numerical sign from the divine that you're on the right path. "A cosmic nudge that whatever is occurring is meant to be". The Angel Number 43 has much to do with peace, love, and security, encouragement...

...but also happiness and stability.


Happiness and Stability.


Blimey. Strike me pink and stone the crows.


I'm struggling again with happiness and stability, currently presented with so many things appearing to end right now.

Ideas, goals, purposes... friendships... shampoo bottles... hot water heaters in my apartment.

Everything seems to be finishing... or ending.


Ending as sad, or ending so that something new can start?


I believe it's exhilarative. Everything coming to an end just at your birthday is a sign from the universe that "new things are coming". Whatever occurring is all meant to be.

Happiness comes from within, but also from positive outcomes of developed expectations.

Stability comes from understanding or accepting outcomes.

High expectations = Easily Disappointed.

Zero expectations = Easily Pleased.


When I arrived in Qatar, I had no idea who I'd meet, how I'd go about this, or where this would direct me. I had zero expectations but hundreds of questions. I was living in the moment and accepting everything that came my way. Zero expectations. Hundreds of moments. Hundreds of happinesses.


As I began living, experiencing, and discovering answers, I began expecting things because expectation comes from routine outcomes.


I pinpointed my frustrations from mismatched expectations of people, places, things, and ideas. When I stopped living in the moment and stopped being open to everything that came my way, my rose-colored glasses came off. I changed. Add in a global pandemic and everything behaved differently. When I returned to living in the moment, I found I evolved.


My mother reminded me that happiness begins when you release the expectations of what you thought it should be... and embrace the moments for what they are and breathe.


So 43... that's what I'm going to do. Continue my gratitude, acceptance, and big breaths. Whatever is coming is meant to be.

The feather bears at The W Hotel

When you're facing the dragon alone, you are the only one you can trust to figure it out. You can hope your body gives you the best effort. You are always going to be there for yourself, so count on you.

I know they're supposed to be bronze plant leaves, but they look like Arrows in a Quiver.
And they're at my second favorite hotel, which makes it even easier to think they're also mine, for battle.

Keep hope in your heart. Keep adventuring. Activate curious plans.

Carry your own arrows into battle.

Smile at strangers, and remember you are also one year closer to an ending.

Eat more cupcakes or what I call "one-serving cake extravaganza".


Happy Birthday.

May your adventure be all you experience in the moment.


... and wherever you are, I'll love you forever.


Slainte.

Comments


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page