top of page

321 Days in Doha : How did I get here?


Doha Skyline, June 2019

How did I get here? On a plane, of course.

Would you believe me if I told you I was tired? I'm exhausted. June was emotional as I reflected on the teacher, professional, explorer, amazing, and tenacious person I have become from the moment I stopped fighting life and accepted it.

Grade 5 sang 525,600 minutes from Rent at "graduation". It was moving to hear those lyrics in the sonorous atrium sung by 10-year-olds with inspiring musical voices. I displayed an end of the year bulletin board, "Our Classroom By The Numbers". I was asked if it was based on that song. Not exactly, but that is an excellent idea because, seriously asking, how do you measure the year in a life? Do you measure the life in your years? I do.

Backstory:

June 21, 2008, on a plane to Greece. The reason I had my passport doesn't matter, but that reason came to an end I attribute as a gift from trust, time, karma, and patience (my 4 favorite things). I got on a plane and left. My mother always encouraged me to have a passport and

two globally-minded, world-traveled, fabulous mentor teachers insisted I must go. I had to start my global journey. Upon arrival in Athens, I had a crying jag because I could not fathom the fact that I had really stepped on a plane and was touching another piece of Earth. Like, a whole other different far-off exotic land where everything was different, even me.

First Doha Corniche Commute Photo

Crying jag worsened as my airport-hotel transfer (the tour company having every travel document needed for cruise and hiking excursions) never arrived to collect me. I had no idea what to do. I had the name of the company but no phone to call. I thought to get on a plane and return, thiswasastupididea, how does anyone know what to do, was this trip a scam?

What. Happens. Pure Panic.

Here's where you have to trust the process of life.

Hours later, a Greek Army Ranger and German Shepherd and an unfriendly female airport employee (with impeccable sense of fashion though) at the information kiosk, sorted everything out. "Mediterranean life on weekends is a bit relaxed" (good to note, never having been there, how would I know), hence their non-arrival. Since I was the only guest on a tour-company-trip on this particular plane, they didn't come for me. (I would find out I was the only English-Speaking-Guest on the whole tour, but hey, some people pay for silent retreats.) I purchased a notebook travel journal (what would become my very first), and was on my way... with my transfer driver and all needed documents for the Port of Piraeus and a whole lot of newly acquired knowledge. Typical trip to Disney, this was not. This was real adventure.

That initial Greek experience was sheer terror... now it's funny.

Museum of Islamic Art, MIA, Doha May 2019

Fast forward a decade (and all of the tests of life).

Without trust in "it might not work out the way you want it to work out, but it always works out the way it should", without time, without karma, and without patience, I couldn't have managed that testing decade. Life consistently pushing me sideways and over again. I feel I had no personal, financial, or job direction that decade because everything I gained I lost almost immediately.

Until I was fed up with the loss spiral.

Khallas (Arabic: enough)

I tested life in 2017.

My "Year of Adventuring".

The fifth person I met in my "Year of Adventuring" telling me I was different than anyone else they ever met from our small Pennsylvania town became the push to pack my bag and depart. What did I have to lose by trying this ExPat life? I had many blessings at home, despite all my losses, I still had good things, the support of my family, who has thankfully and lovingly agreed to be my family no matter which time zone I am. At least for awhile, I had everything to gain by walking away. I had lived 40 years there. It was time to live new.

Borrowed @repost: Instagram

I embraced my new start, my clean canvas, my chance to go, become, see, experience, anything I wished to have... I realized - there was no looking back.

My Thanksgiving Trip to Sweden was my push back at life to see if I was ready to embrace everything I saw waiting for me. I was nervous to accept it. Small cog person, big wheel of life. Small fish, big sea... then I remembered the band Great Big Sea, the song "Sea of No Cares":

"Hey somewhere, you threw your fear in the sea of no cares.

Let yourself go with the tide, there's an angel by your side."

Angel by my side, indeed. And his cute little angel dogface too.

Easter/Spring Panel, Stockholm Park

Comical Thought: Lithuanian-English translation = "$&!t"... no, not "salt".

My father loves trains and exploring the globe via train is a special part of my journeys. I was exploring the nuances of Stockholm Centralstation, thinking about my dad someday seeing the arches and symmetry, the layout... when the fire alarm went off. A piece of bread became stuck in a toaster in one coffee kiosk and was smoldering. This time no panic, no fear. Instinct. What to do, where to go... I left and went for a gin and slice of pizza at the hotel bar across the street, and returned to the train station the next morning to start the life I happily realized I could have.

Gin Display, Westin Hotel, Doha, June

Snuck a photo as bartender came back from break...

265 days from Black Friday 2017, I stepped on a plane to really begin my new life.

Departure Day, August 15, 2018, Avoca/Chicago/Doha, Chicago Duty Free

I thought of my Grandparents and Great-Grandparents. They left home countries, trusted in new cities and the globe, and with time, karma, and patience, strived in the community, developed local, reliable businesses people still recall, raised families, endured changes, made friends, and lived. They truly lived.

As I have done these days in Doha.

First Ever Qatar Photo, Airport Trees. First Morning Tea, #wewillalwayshaveParkLane

This is #MyDohaLife. This is everything I wished for on the day I signed my contract.

I embraced every possible moment there was for 10 months and 2 weeks. Coming home last week from Krossroads (reminded me of good nights at Whistles), chatting with my uber driver outside my apartment, he said I have seriously done almost everything there is to do in Qatar... and to be honest -- yeah, I have done it all and I'm tired. Tired of some people, places, things, and ideas too, but really, I am just tired. I could use a nap. The best way to become un-tired is to rest and take a break from adventuring.

Saudi Arabia Border, Zekreet Mystery City, Porto Arabia Boats

One example of my adventurous is taking the sites I wish to see in a city, plugging them into Google Maps, and organizing a self guided walking tour... my friend sitting next to me while I did this offered the idea "This indicates Adventure OCD and you seriously need to chill out..." - maybe he's right. I need to sit.

First Porto Arabia Photo, First Corniche Dhow Boat Photo, First Dhow Trip Photo

August 2018

321 Days in Doha, by the Month

16th August 2018 : Arrival, dinner at Villagio Mall

6th September : First Conversation with Saleem, our work driver

8th October : First After School Club Ukulele Lesson, GEMS Wellington Academy

30th October : Rooftop Pre-Halloween Party where I met the girls known as "Rooftop Ladies", first group of non-work female friends

15-17th November : Mega 40th Birthday Weekend at St. Regis Hotel Resort

18th December : National Day Parade and Coffee with my teaching friend Samran

23rd January : My friend Denise arrives from Kuwait for an extended weekend in Doha. I met Denise at the International Teaching Conference in February 2018!

20th February : First Spinning Class, Sheraton Fitness

22nd March : Beach Pass Hilton Resort

13th May : First Ride on the new Doha Metro

24th May : First Cabana Rental at St. Regis Beach with work colleagues who have become such close friends

27th June : Last School Day in Academic Heaven, my dream job.

I forgot to count Kilos lost...

321 Days in Doha, by numbers

Bottles of Sparkling Water Opened By A Seatbelt Clip : 1

Times Burned By The Stupid Oven Toaster Griller : 2

Helipad Yoga Classes : 2

Beach Camping Experiences : 2

US Dress Sizes Lost : 2

"Dates" worth mentioning : 3

Dhow Boat Swimming Trips : 3

Open Mic Nights : 4

Awful Uber Experiences Worth Reporting To Uber : 4

Exclusive Access Rooftop Cocktail Experiences : 4

Pool Parties : 5

Books Read: 5

Specifically Scheduled Corniche Walks : 5

Iftar Dinners : 5

Friday Brunches : 6

Trips With A Secret Friend : 5

Awful Careem Experiences Worth Reporting to Careem: 7

Beach Parties : 8

Off Campus Professional Development Meetings: 9

Coffee Shops Tried : 11

Spinning Classes : 18

Country/Nationalities of New Friends : 23

Times I Caught Myself Arguing Audibly With The Stupid Oven Toaster Griller : 38

New Phone Contacts : 111

Photos of the Corniche on the Morning Commute : 176

Planned Adventures With Work Colleagues

(Doha 2.0) : 22

Non-Specifically Planned Adventures With Doha 2.0 : 253 Days of Hilarity

Nights Of Sharing Dinner With Doha 2.0 : 89

Cocktail Nights with Doha 2.0 : 7

InterNations Official Events in Doha : 28

InterNations Official Events in Dubai : 1

School Concerts : 9

Hospital Visits

(there are no defined physician practices)

Ear Infections From Swimming: 2

Eye Infections Requiring Conversation With Hot Iranian Pharmacist: 1

Sinus Infection/Chest Cold/Felt Like Death Arrived On Me Experience: 1

Food Poisoning Lasting A Week : 1

Holidays

October: Italy

February: United Arab Emirates.

April : Qatar

Best Life Ever Team Teaching Friends : 16

My New Teacher Team sponsored a tree as part of the school Green Initiative

Days of School Missed : 1 *

*due to death like health experience requiring hospital visit, or I'd have gone, totally, but thought I was dying, no lie.

I admit, I'm tired. I've really lived... with 16 New Teaching Friends and countless others I've met in Qatar - I proudly stand, embracing life given to me. I no longer feel out of place, different, or awkward.

"The Power Of Silence" website:

"If you're not happy with your life, change it. It's your responsibility to do so. Move. You are not a tree. If you feel you do not have the room for growing and learning new things - then quit and go on to find another place that will make you happy. Everything you do is based on the choices you make. Stop stressing over things you cannot change. You can only change yourself and how you see things."

yep. not a tree. grow elsewhere. grow in a whole lot of places and grow bigger by moving yo-self. none of this "grass is greener" stuff either. Grass is green where you water it. Get watering with the reminder that "You cannot heal in the same environment where you got sick" (photo above).

My friends... it is time for me to walk the globe again...

The Netherlands and Ireland!

Time to step outside 120F heat, humidity of the sandbox, walk my globe and explore. I'm curious what I will learn about as I travel this time, continuing to define what I will and will not tolerate from people, places, things, and ideas.

One amazing thing about International Teaching is the people you meet... those who come and go as their life goals are achieved, unlocked, and advanced. Qatar, I excitedly anticipate your second academic year. Many good things on the horizon, including some time to rest.

To those I've met this year who take their next step forward, you understand the global citizen viewpoint of "never-evah" saying goodbye... it is always just, "See you later."

So...

"See you later..."

Slainte.

Last Morning Tea, #wewillalwayshaveparklane

Emoji Hug

Last Corniche View on the GEMS Bus

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page