top of page

Hello! Hello!

Hi friends! Apologies on the delay for writing you at length about The Gulf but I have been enjoying going to work so much, reading all the music texts, collaborating with new colleagues, and growing professionally! 

What? No way! For Shame! You didn’t think I was just sitting on the beach like this a vacation all the time and making new International friends, did you? Heck! I’m seriously working over here!! 

Lots of professional research is happening and one thing I have learned is that you can always actively learn something more about your craft... if it's in an apartment rooftop pool on a shared kiwi raft with a Kindergarten teacher, so be it, because it was a group project, 21st century style. Learning about Best Educational Practices doesn't always come from a meeting room, you know. 

Incredibly inspired, by so many good things. I really don't know where to start to explain any of it all, but in the last month I know I havent stopped smiling, even when it was 118F one day, I haven't felt like I was faking it or settling for an almost right idea or trying to be happy... my life is proudly going to be this way and I am surrounded with glowing souls who seek the world as I seek it. 😎 I'll take it. 

I’ve tried to keep you posted digitally in other ways and in the moment things happen but I have to say the technology is fun here... I’m on Android devices and it’s throwing me for a loop. Currently working out typographical erors with my thumbs and bizRre autocirrxt. Bizarre autocorrect... ugh.... never a dull lkment. Mome t.MOMENT. 

Whatever. 😑

Anyway, I wanted to write you today with a podcast I think you’d like. I’ve a daily 40 minute work commute both ways (longer if we don’t leave on time, and someone else is always “hold the bus” and such and there’s traffic and road construction... last night I took an Uber home from mass and the driver took a finished six lane highway road that did not exist a week ago... lessons for PennDot anyone?) but I digress...

Extra Pack of Peanuts Podcast! Quickly becoming one of my favorites, tips and tricks about all things travel related. Humor, insights, and travel meltdown stories to keep you giggling and seeing the world through the eyes of another.

Fell in love with the podcast as Host Travis reminds listeners "travel" is not always meant as a physical movement across the globe, sometimes it is a mental change. Flip your perspective (on your town, movies, books, food, etc) and see things outside your comfort zone... simply experience things others aren't. 

For me, it started with a Staycation in Scrantonia in 2014... and the rest of the story was drawn into the sand on the beach in Doha a few weekends ago because this isn't a vacation... Qatar is really mine to explore. 

This podcast episode aired in 2014  - but it reminded me of all of you who encourage me and how you might experience some of this adventure adrenaline too.

If you don't have time to listen to the whole thing, give at least the last 25 minutes or so a listen. Guest AJ Jacobs keeps life interesting as he describes a few ways to experiment thinking outside the box without leaving the coziness of where you are right now... become a better human through the term "extreme self improvement"... but if you're not into the extreme part and would rather a "small, manageable bit of self improvement" - here you go.


If you don't think you are, pretend you're confident. Have no fear of failure. Failure is a relative term, I've told you this dozens of times. There is no set way it is to be... it doesn't always work out the way you think it will, but it always works out the way it should... go and ditch the seat at a party, mingle, work the room, find a comforting set of eyes in a stranger, find the moments, make them yours. (See The Fine Art of Small Talk, free .pdf in a google search - if you need help getting started on faking the confidence thing.)


Take control where you can and let go where you can't. Make your current ideas of "What if..." ideas of "How can I..."


Visit places you wouldn't normally visit...start in your own town, eat at places you wouldn't eat, movies you wouldn't see, etc... think outside the box, change one way of thinking and focus on that one change. You have to be in a place you wouldn't normally be to find something you wouldn't normally find. 


Make a thinking list, called "Disciplined Daydreaming" ... Make a list of things to think about, and then get unplugged and think... yep: Unplugged. Get away from your tech... Train yourself to think, write down these ideas, act upon some of them. Look at life with two sets of eyes: the eyes in your actual head living your life and the eyes that are outside from above you which look around and see a bigger picture. Look for ideas to think about every where(how can I cook lasagna with this toaster oven? Lets think...) 


One thing I have to say about Qatar is that aside from a quick message about a meeting time or restaurant directions, a photo of a sunset or the city skyline, or a photo of a bucket of champagne bottles with flaming Roman Candle type fireworks coming out of it... (true story, that's a really good true story...) nobody is on their phone when they're out. Everyone is chatting and interacting and making conversation. Phones exist here, just not 99% of our attention. 

So go, get out of your comfort zones. Let go. Flip your thinking. Discipline your thinking. Look for ideas. Say hello to US Army soldiers on the beach in Doha (wait that one is mine... and another really good true story...)

Ok, I have to go. Much in the works here. I miss you. Write me. Thanks to those who do write me... I miss you... Send photos of your adventures. 

Thanks for being with me on mine. 

Sláinte. 

Link for podcast:

http://extrapackofpeanuts.com/aj-jacobs 

Photo: 

Across the street from my apartment building the Qatar Rail stop. My daily reminder that this life is always under construction. 

Photo credit: 

Oxygene Club, Le Cigale Hotel, Doha


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page