top of page

These will all be stories someday, and our pictures will become old photographs, but right now these

<opening quote from Perks of Being A Wallflower, letter Charlie is writing>

Every person I've met in my life has made a difference in the way I look at the world. I just wasn't mindful about it until two summers ago. 

I was driving home one sad evening in June 2016 and realized it was time for a change. I was in a sad rut, spinning my wheels with the same habits, people, places, and things. They were good people, places, and things, but it was just time to step ahead. A big change in everything was on the horizon. Why change one thing when you can change it all? Thought patterns, eating habits, work commute time, personal attitudes toward stuff, the makeup of myself. (Makeup, ugh... I STILL can never get the eyeliner right and then I look like a panda...) It wasn't that I didn't like who I was, but I felt I wasn't being true to myself. How could I be true to others if I wasn't first true to myself. But how do I become truthful to me? How would I know when I was being true to myself again? How does one change patterns and habits? 

I wish it was something as easy as "this two cent thingy from this place..." but it was actually just love... and Luck. Blind Luck... and a favorite book... also a ton of prayers to my Guardian Angel and The Puppy... a benefit... a book titled "The Fine Art of Small Talk" by Debra Fine.... solid awkward-chair-yoga belief in the fact that I could be happy again. (Am I the only one who loves Sun B's?)

So off I went with myself as the only resource. I met the following individuals through several paths of hilarity that I've come to realize only I could find in the Forest of Life. One individual led to another and one path connected to another. You should search for these paths in your own life too. I'll lead you if you'd like. I went from knowing very few people and having few places to go - to knowing the following individuals (see if you can find yourself here) and having a lot of laughs along the way. 

A Political Lawyer. He taught me to have confidence in myself again. I forgot that I am a strong, independent woman and I have nothing to apologize for about anything that has happened or is going to happen in my life which is out of my control. I should also always believe in myself and the ability to make myself laugh again.

Mr. Incoherent. I call him this because I feel I can't speak like a normal person around him at any time, ever. He's a super chill dude, introspective, funny... I don't know why all my words come out jumbly-wumbly, but that's that. My intelligence goes out the window. My sarcastic, confident wit become dur-dur-durrrr and facepalms abound when he leaves. I know he doesn't think I'm an idiot, but I think I'm an idiot anytime he's around. However it goes with him around, it's always a fun time. He taught me that people are noticed without realizing they are being noticed. He also taught me to stand up straight, say hello to a stranger, take action in a crowd, and to get myself out of the shadows and into the disco ball reflection. He also taught me that it's ok to keep someone laughing at life, fix the jumbly-wumbly, and get on with it. 

The Executive taught me that consistency isn't for everyone and people who love consistency can find happiness in life the same way people who love adventure find happiness. Is consistency the impetus for or death of adventure? What is it like when adventure becomes the consistency? Ultimately, I learned nice, caring, and honest people are around everywhere you look - on an adventure or right at home. 

The Contractor taught me it is perfectly fine to have fun and not take things so seriously. Ever. Every laugh is sacred and every time you get a today, you have to do something with it. He taught me the importance of being outside in nature and taking some time to stop and smell the roses is much needed amid the chaos of the workday. He also reminded me that you are in charge of your own adventure, and you can do with that adventure as you please.

The teacher taught me to to be more patient with the students in my classroom. She reminded me that under the surface of the face we see at school is a child that needs much more than the lesson scheduled in the book. She also taught me how having a work friend for more than work talk makes the day much easier to handle... and that doing some schoolwork in July in an air-conditioned coffeehouse is acceptable. 

The business-leadership-organizer taught me to be patient on deliveries, to smile more, to be outgoing, to speak up, and to find a work/life balance. She reminded me that friends come in unexpected places amid unexpected things. She reminded me that no dream is too big (or small) and that totally uprooting your life for a dream is the right idea. She also reminded me that a good friend is only as far away as the text message, "can we hang out?" She has made me want to visit Arkansas. 

The General Store Owner reminded me you are never too old to apologize when needed and take responsibility for your feelings and actions. He also reminded me about keeping up with only myself, forget the Joneses...  #heyyoukeepup was more of a joke but has become an actual reality for me. 

The European Biker taught me to live, think, and work outside the box. He taught me to drive with the sunroof open every day it's not raining to feel the excitement in the fresh air. He reminded me to look around on my commute and see the place I live and love. He taught me to look at my days with great respect and opportunities for more adventure. He gave me back the confidence to stop waiting and get going. He reminded me that with great power comes great responsibility and I am ready to accept that responsibility while remaining full of gratitude toward my life and the experiences I've had to have brought me to the point I'm at now. Complete Gratitude. Time, Karma, and Patience have their way of sorting things out. 

But most importantly, I met "Patrick". 

Have you seen the movie or read the book Perks of Being a Wallflower? 

IMDB states the movie is about an introverted high school freshman named Charlie who is taken in by some upperclassmen who help him understand the world as Charlie is managing a mental health issue. 

The book jacket goes into much more detail. #booksarebetterthanmovies

However, there's Patrick, the older step-brother of the "dream girl" who at a party one night simply states, 

Patrick: Hey, everyone! Every body! Everyone, raise your glasses to Charlie. 

Charlie: What did I do? 

Patrick: You didn't do anything. We just want to toast to our new friend. You see things and you understand. You're a wallflower. 

<Charlie is embarrassed>

Patrick: What is it? What's wrong? 

Charlie: I didn't think anyone noticed me. 

Patrick: Well we didn't think there was anyone cool left to meet! So come on everyone. To Charlie!

And well, that happened to me. There I was, minding my own business seeing things and beginning to understand one late summer evening in 2016, hanging out, when he said "Everyone, be sure to meet Casey... she's one of us... she just doesn't know it yet..." 

I wasn't sure what I was one of, or if I really was one of it, or why I didn't know what it all was, but I suddenly wanted to know. I suddenly wanted to know everything. I wanted people to tell me everything they knew about everything they knew. I wanted to be around people, at places, doing things. 

So, to my "Patrick"... thank you for reminding me to remain true to myself and never stop meeting people, going places, or seeing things.... and to always accept the love I think I deserve and expect nothing less than that for myself or anyone else. I've met many people on this journey, but none of them make me smile like you do. You cool person, you... just keep considering how many people have not washed their hands before they dig into that popcorn machine at the old Mert's, would ya? 

This weekend, as I sit on that big fluffy pool raft again, get lost in the gentle waves of the water, and look into the beautiful sky again, reflecting on all the things I forgot once but now remember, discussing all the things I know that I didn't before - I'll be thinking of all of you who read this far hanging here with me and how you all bring me closer to the understanding of this crazy world and all the parts within the atmosphere. 

Who are you? Are you being truthful to yourself? How would someone recognize you in a crowd? How are you a Patrick to others? Are you a contractor? Are you a craftsman? How do you bring out the best in others? How do you make others feel like "the coolest person in the world"? 

Here's to us - may we always be. 

Slainte. 

"I don't know if I will have the time to write any more letters because I might be too busy trying to participate." ~ Charlie, Perks of Being A Wallflower 

Oh Charlie - if only we knew.... 

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page