top of page

Flurry of Fun!


Well, the last two days have been hectic, random, totally unexpected, and really fun.

Friday was an early morning. Met my new teacher friends and we hopped from school presentation to school presentation. It was comparable to "speed dating" in that every school hiring at this event had 30 minutes to highlight their school, their benefits package, and their local area. It was hard to schedule which schools to see as many of the schools I wanted to learn about were scheduled at the same

time. Hit or miss. 100+ schools, 4 shown at a time, every half hour, pretty much all day. Since I've already accepted an offer, I'm not feeling the pressure some of my friends are, but it was still much to take in about THE WHOLE WORLD of teaching opportunities available in this adventure. 🤗

Made a friend who will be teaching in the same region. It was fabulous to make that connection now. These next 5 months of paperwork and document attesting will be mentally challenging. One of the PD sessions talked about the roller coaster of emotions (excitement, wonder, regret, happiness, understanding, etc.) that are going to happen and it will be good to have someone who understands.

My other favorite New York Thing is hanging out with my New York Cousin. A new friend suggested this amazing Korean BBQ place and knowing my cousin, we went 😎. Ate like fools. Had lots of tasty meats and mushrooms. Pro Tip: make a reservation if you can, and find the febreeze that's at the coat check on the way out or you'll smell like BBQ meats and grease for days. (My Pro Tip: Walgreens has travel size febreeze and I pack my own when I travel.)

So, being with my New York Cousin is something I will miss... but her first stamp in her new passport is going to be to visit me and that will be an adventure as well.

Saturday morning the interview sign ups were in a big ballroom where the teaching candidates returned the "speed dating" style of selling ourselves to the schools. Since I have accepted a position, I did not attend the event to schedule interview times, but when I made it to the meeting space this morning many of my friends were gathering their things for their interviews. I think they'll all be successful too!

I walked around Mid-Town, taking in Winter in Bryant Park and the Steinway store. Played some tunes in a soundproof glass enclosed room and sitting behind that Steinway Baby Grand, with this future ahead of me, I felt as invincible as everyone tells me I am. As I felt the keys under my fingers as I played that piano, I could feel my future developing into one incredible time.

So, tonight will be a final chance for us to meet and greet schools and candidates at a big mixer. I look forward to meeting more friends and seeing the city I love so very much.

New York, New York, a wonderful town.

Off to adventure. More soon.

Slainte.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget

©2018 by Hey You, Keep Up!. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page