top of page

Step One: Establish A Base


I think the most beautiful thing about today was meeting like-minded-type-adventure people. People who have also hit the life-reset button. Those who know what it feels to have been inspired by something, someone, some life changing event. Those who have acquired the skills to successfully navigate alone... and that was a really cool feeling to find “my people” again.

Teach Away, the company who has navigated me through this international teaching idea, is sponsoring a Culturally Responsive Teaching Seminar and Job Fair. I’m here for the PD (Professional Development) but had I not already been hired by a school two days ago and gone through an interview last weekend, I’d be partaking in the in-person interview times, presenting my pitch, and my take on the importance of Arts Education. I was really looking forward to meeting with additional schools I’ve researched and securing employment in particular locations I’ve researched (this has been my life since returning from Scandinavia at Thanksgiving!)... but as I learned today in a PD, “pick a school, not a location” - so I am feeling additionally secure in my choice!

Conference started at 8am and I made a friend at 7:50am. That’s just me. Lovely, unique, adventurous soul... and from there the networking began. Conference room chit chat with women I feel I’ve known forever but just met today, a private one-one meeting with a fabulous girls-only school (making me wish I had held out a bit longer on my contract decision, but time, karma, and patience work everything out), Overseas Living seminar discussion, new friends for lunch, International Baccalaureate Curriculum Immersion/Overview, meeting times, mailbox checking, email and phone exchanges, a bit of taking in Times Square... and a networking event I set up and met some really amazing teachers! Phew! It was a busy day.

Went for a brief walk very late around 7th and the 40’s and oh, how I’ll miss my NYC jaunts!! Yet, I learned in today’s PD that I shouldn’t lament what’s being “left behind” (Ok Jimmy, I hear you clearly, as always...) but I should celebrate “the new”. (And apparently pack an extra box of Cheerios since in some locations they are hard to come by? If only all PD was as provisional!)

So, that was today. Busy. Lots to take in. More than I realized I realized there was to understand. This is really big. This is really brave. And while I feel like I’m just a person doing a thing, my new friend Julio (down by the schoolyard, actually...) told us tonight,

“The brave are those who try to come out of their cycle. Bravery comes from the outside viewer. Nobody feels brave. Nobody thinks they are brave. They just do things and everyone else is the one that thinks the things were or are a brave choice.”

Well played, Julio. Well played.

So, that being said, tomorrow will be a day filled with more friends and seeking adventure experiences. School presentations and more meet-ups. Mailbox checking and contact exchanging. It’s so inspiring to be around like-minded people who understand the world is ours to hold.

Ok you guys. Catch you soon.

Sláinte.

“It’s never going to be what it was because you took the leap of faith.”

(David Randall, ISS teacher services)

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page