top of page

Starting Out

Well, it's official. I've made a huge life decision. If you know me, you know that decisions and I are either friends or foe. I can either make a decision in 3 seconds or 3 years. But after spending all of 2017 nurturing my adventurous soul, I've made a decision.

Music is not only my hobby, but my passion, and my career. Music Education has been my life. I can't ever imagine a time where I wasn't learning music. I have a faint memory of being around 2 years old and climbing onto a piano bench to play around with the keys. A friendly hand from my mother as I worked my way up and down the white and black keys... but there isn't a time in my life where I can't remember knowing how to read music

My career in music education has taken many turns and provided many professional opportunities for growth (and grumbling). I had a professional goal during my first year of teaching. 17 years later, I see how my goal adapted each teaching year to the current surroundings and situations. I'm not anywhere near my original goal but I finally found peace with the fact that goals change just like people and life change. Each year has been unique, with its own professional excitement, challenges, and questions, but when I look back, all the career changes and life changes seem to connect together to let me sit right here, at this table, in this house, starting this blog, in the snowstorm.... because even though I've built an award-winning, fully grant-funded with killer opportunities for my kiddos in the classroom, regionally outstanding elementary music program.... (drum roll)....

I've accepted an opportunity to teach music internationally!

I'm both excited and nervous and full of hope and wonder as I continue to gather information, research the area, speak with my new colleagues, and discover the ExPat life! One big adventure!

Lots of blogs have helped me understand the transitions that are about to take place, and I'm hoping this blog will help you understand that too... and let you come with me - and keep in touch - as my career lets me continue exploring the world I love - while teaching!

So, as my good friend always says, "Here's to us - may we always be."

Slainte.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page